October Book Haul

image

I very nearly didn’t make a haul post this month, because I’ve been so good and have done most of my hauling at the library so I didn’t think I’d actually brought that many books. But it seems I’ve been lying to myself about that…

The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

I have the second part of this set of books and found the first in a charity shop for next to nothing. I’m not even sure I’ll like the books, but it was so cheap it seemed silly not to buy it.

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

This one has been on my list of books I want to read for so long that I can’t even remember what it’s about, only that I’ve been searching for it forever!

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres

I don’t know much about this one, only that it’s deep and over the last few months I’ve begun to find more enjoyment in great writing more so than fast plots, so hopefully this will be a good one.

Perfume by Peter Suskind

I read this about 10 years ago after my collage tutor recommended it to me and lent me his copy. I remember reading it, wondering what the hell impression I must give off to people for him to assume I’d like a book about a psychopath who likes to turn women into perfume. But then I actually really did enjoy it, as well as all the other dark as hell stuff he recommended to me and I figured that even though I must come off as a total weirdo, at least it was an accurate representation of who I actually was. So anyway, I found this copy and since I don’t actually have it myself, I thought I’d grab it for old time’s sake.

By Light We Knew Our Names by Anne Valente

There’s been a bit of hype from the booktubers I follow about this, and I’m trying not to be swayed so easily by that as I end up buying far too many books, far quicker than I can read them. However, this one sounds like a great collection of short stories.

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J.K Rowling (Illustrated edition)

A few months ago it occurred to me that while I love Harry Potter, I haven’t read it in over 10 years and the only copies I have of the books are on my ereader, so I decided to get myself a printed set. But then I discovered that there are so many editions, and all of the ones I wanted were crazy expensive, until, as if by magic I just so happened to find out that an illustrated edition of the first book was being released (YAY!) and that the illustrations were being done by Jim Kay (double yay!) so the decision was made for me. And while having the whole set (as long as they release them all, which if they don’t will ruin my life) will be pretty expensive, there’s more than enough time between releases for me not to feel like I just dropped £100 on a book series all at once when I should have been feeding my kid or something.

Library:

The Small Hand by Susan Hill

I’d just returned ‘Woman in Black’ and found that they had this one other book by the same author. It has very similar vibes as WIB, the same slow, creepy sense of foreboding, the same spookiness and it was a really quick read.

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Oh this book is so big. I’ve been avoiding it because of it’s bigness, but it was staring me at the library so it’s worth a try, right? If I don’t finish it, I’ll just have to renew it.

Visitation by Jenny Erpenbeck

Set in Nazi Germany about a house and all of the different people that have lived in it over time. I haven’t read it yet but the idea of it sounds really intriguing.

Leave a Reply

