Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann

BEAUT_DARK_cover-full

An obscure graphic novel that I can only detective as kind of a fairy tale, but only because that it’s about tiny, fairy like creatures. Aurora is a princess who lives with a bunch of other tiny folk in their woodland home, but Aurora’s home isn’t a castle or a kingdom or a shack, it’s the corpse of a little girl whose body has been left in the woods to rot, which it does, graphically. The story begins with the evacuation of Auroras’s fairy friends from the body of this child after it begins to rot and fall apart, but without the structure of the life inside their old home, the creatures become wild and feral, not knowing how to navigate their new, open world and the creatures who live there.

I suppose the moral of this story is that people are always better when they help each other out, as we see Aurora’s former friends turn against each other in the most brutal ways. I enjoyed the story, the artwork was lovely and disgusting and I really found the juxtaposition of the pretty and the horrific to be effective. The idea was really original, but the story itself was a bit lacking. I didn’t really feel anything for any of the characters, I didn’t feel I understood their motivations or particularly cared if they failed or succeeded.

3/5

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann

    1. I don’t even know how I found it, I was rummaging around online for something interesting, spotted it and saw that the main character has the same name as my daughter so I grabbed it. It’s such a weird little story 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

