August Book Haul


The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman – I have this on my Kindle and have read it before, but it was in the 80p classics, and it’s a really great little story. I’m really happy to have it on my bookshelf.

The Night is Darkening Around Me by Emily Bronte – I don’t know much about this book, but I know I love Emily Bronte 🙂

A Cuckoo’s Calling By Robert Galbraith – I’m currently rereading the HP series I decided that it would be great time to give this a go, too.

Reasons She Goes To The Woods by Deborah Kay Davies – After reading quite a few dud books lately I wanted something to get me out of the slump I was quickly falling into. I’ve already read and reviewed this, you can read about how much I loved it here.

A Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan – The Gracekeepers is such a beautiful book and I got so excited wen I found out she was releasing a collection of short stories. I’d heard that there were only a limited amount of hardback copies of her latest work being released and typically I’m not one to bother so much about that, but I knew if regret not buying this if I had to wait until next year to read the paperback.

The Dumb House by John Burnside – As with ‘Reasons She Goes To the Woods’ I was drawn to The Dumb House for the reviews describing it as eerie and disturbing. Eerie and disturbing are my favourite qualities in a book and it didn’t disappoint.

On Monsters by Stephen T. Asma – I love monsters, and have been reading a lot of essays lately about what makes a monster and what function they serve. I found On Monsters and thought it would give me a more in depth look at this idea.

Broken Harbour by Tana French- I started reading the Dublin Murder Squad series back when In a the Woods came out and it’s pretty much the only crime series I will read. I picked this up at the library and am currently reveling in it’s detective novel cliche.

Night film by Marisha Pessl –I had really high hopes for this, it is often compared to House of Leaves and I Loved House of Leaves when I read it so I have been dying to read something like it ever since. But the only things the books have in common is the use of interesting formatting, which was good. I liked the photography. But everything else sucked. The characters were all too similar, the story didn’t really move quickly enough, and while the narrator kept insisting how scary things were, that in itself isn’t scary. I couldn’t even bring myself to finish it.

Leave a Reply

