July book haul 

Books!

1984 by George Orwell – Already own it, already read it, but just look at that cover. So clever, it’s like a little inside joke for everybody who has read the novel already, and an easy way to identify those who haven’t so I can redirect them away from my bookshelf. As if I wasn’t going to get it.

Goblin Market by Christina Rosseti – This 80th anniversary Little Black Classics collection is so cute, I want them all! But I’m not going to get them all, because some of them don’t look very appealing.

The Tell Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe – I wish it had been The Raven, but beggars can’t be choosers and all that. It was only 80p.

Hangsaman by Shirley Jackson – I don’t have a favourite author, but I’d like to tell myself that if I did it would be Shirley Jackson. But then, I’ve only read her most famous three works as of yet, so I figured I should get more and decide how much of a fan I really am.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik Pretty cover!

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – These next few books I got because my friend had a discount book voucher and pretty much forced me into the shop to spend at least £20. There wasn’t much of a selection, and choosing books is considerably more stressful with a toddler trying to shoplift everything, but I think I made good choices.

The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessey by Rachel Joyce – A friend of mine recommended it.

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – I don’t know much about this one, but it’s been on my Goodreads to-read list forever so I grabbed it.

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler (Not pictured, so you’ll just have to use you’re imagination. It’s yellow!) – Again, it’s been on my list for a while, and I’m pretty sure I saw Red reading it on Orange Is The New Black, but then maybe I didn’t. I forget. But if I did, that’s a good enough recommendation to me, that show is where I first heard of Outlander, and that hasn’t ever got me anywhere but very good places.

Ebooks:

513ZY58MpgL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer – I could have picked this up at the market for £1 about 3 months ago but I didn’t and I’ve regretted it ever since. So when I found it on the Kindle store sale for about the same price I felt like the universe was giving me a second chance.

Ocean_at_the_End_of_the_Lane_US_CoverThe Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – Ugh, I love Neil Gaiman

2 thoughts on “July book haul 

Leave a Reply

