Though the woods by Emily Carroll 

61vN8LI0tzL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

“But the worst kind of monster was the burrowing kind. The sort that crawled into to and made a home there.”

I usually keep a good collection of horror stories for Halloween, because I really do love a good horror. But this was far too intriguing to leave alone for that long.

Through the woods is a graphic novel made up of various short horror stories that are all set in or around the woods. They are written in the style of myths and legends and I wouldn’t be surprised if some of these stories were based on existing tales as they all have a vague feeling of familiarity about them in the same way fables and fairy tales do, only more disturbing. 

I don’t think I’ve ever read any horror graphic novels before, but they lend themselves so well to the genre. By keeping the stories short, you can’t become desensitised to them, and by delivering all of the atmosphere through the illustrations meant Carroll didn’t have to waste pages setting the scene. There wasn’t a single story in the collection that I didn’t enjoy and all of them were illustrated perfectly, the colours were great, as was the sketchy, messy drawing style. I just wish there had been more!

I need to get my hands on more collections like this. So if you know of any, I’d love to hear about them.

5/5

2 thoughts on “Though the woods by Emily Carroll 

  1. This is on my TBR and definitely a different then normal for me. But it had such great reviews and I need to step out of my comfort zone. I guess I will need to read this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

