June Book Haul

I’ve fallen off the wagon. In fact, not only have I fallen off, but due to a lack of steering, it collided into the wall of a bookshop and shattered into a million pieces. The wagon is no more. Lets forget it ever existed, shall we? This month, I made my first venture to the sunday market that sets up within walking distance of my house (after avoiding it like the plague since I moved here, I might add). There’s a couple there who run a used book stand and only charge £1 per book. So I guess they’ll be my dealers now.

Anyway, onto the books!

21954964

Purple Hibiscus/ Half of a Yellow Sun/ Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: The Internet has been raving about Americanah and after reading We Should All Be Feminists I knew that I had to read it. I spend a good few hours deciding whether or not to order more of her books,  and if I should get them in paperback since they aren’t expensive. But I’m far too impatient, so they went onto my Kindle. I’ve read Purple Hibiscus already, so expect a review on that soon.

Through The Woods by Emily Carroll: Graphic novel collection of horror stories? Of course!

Vampires by Aubrey Sherman:  I saw a review on booktube for another book from this collection, and while I wasn’t so eager to read the edition on MErmaids, the Vampires seemed like an interesting one for me to start with.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell: I love Cloud Atlas and have seen Mitchell’s latest work in a few places, but wasn’t sure if I should get it yet as I still have so many others to read. But it was less than a fiver in the supermarket, and if it’s going to stalk me, I’d rather just get the purchase over and done with. I’m actually already started on this one, and so far it’s pretty fascinating!

Shift by Hugh Howey: Loved Wool, and I hear that the rest of the series isn’t as great as that, but yeah, £1 a book.

City of Bones/Ashes/Glass/Fallen Angels/Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare: I’ve been debating reading these at all, since I didn’t love Clockwork Angel and my expectations were already low enough. But I got this set of five for a fiver, which probably would have been the cost of one book by itself anyway. And next time I feel like reading something easy, at least I’ll have this.

The Hobbit & The Lord Of The Rings Collection by J.R.R Tolkien: after I managed to lug a much too small and flimsy carrier bag stuffed with 10 or so heavy paperbacks home, My husband immediately pointed out that I already own The Lord of The Rings. and he’s completely right. But I did not own The Lord of the Rings + The Hobbit, did I? Now I do.

Leave a Reply

