The Sandman by Neil Gaiman

517MlmZ7z2L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“The real problem with stories – if you keep them going long enough they always end in death

The first graphic novel I read was Johnny The Homicidal Maniac when I was 15, which I loved. But I’m a creature of habit, and am all too quick to stick with what I’m used to, and let’s face it, reading a graphic novel requires a totally different approach than regular books. Over the last few months I’ve made a conscious decision to step outside my reading comfort zone, picking up the kinds of books I would have never dreamed of going near and every time I’ve been amazed what new worlds of genres have opened up to me. I love stories, and I love art, so why I’ve been dragging my feet on graphic novels in hindsight is baffling. So I thought if start with Sandman because it’s such a popular one, and because Neil Gaiman never fails to impress me.

The Sandman himself is the God of the dream world, and is accidentally captured by a group of individuals who mistakenly imprison him in an attempt to catch and inprison Death. After he is captured the Sandman bides his time, waiting for an opportunity to regain his freedom, avenge himself and reclaim his home in the dream world.

I don’t know if it was me, or the unfamiliar layout but I found it challenging to get through this one. The plot seemed to leap around a lot and I the story just didn’t grab me as well Gaiman’s stories usually do. The second half I enjoyed much more than the first as the story became more consistent. The artwork was amazing though and while I may not continue the series I will definitely stick with his other works, because his imagination and ability as a novelist is outstanding.

3/5

Leave a Reply

