May Book Haul

I keep telling myself that I won’t buy anymore books until I’ve read all of the ones already sitting up there on my TBR shelf, gathering dust and judging me, But I’m a fickle kind of creature, and I just can’t help myself. I’m not even sorry about that.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer – #2 in the Lunar Chronicles and sequel to Cinder

How to Breathe Underwater by Julie Orringer – I’ve been searching high and low for this for years so finally just ordered myself a copy.

Angela Carter’s Book of Fairy Tales by Angela Carter – Saw it in Waterstones, thought it was pretty, couldn’t just leave it there all by itself.

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro – I loved Never Let Me Go, and had no idea he was writing a new book since it’s been so long since the last one, so when I spotted this in W.H Smith’s, after getting stupidly excited about it, I just had to get it. It’s had quite mixed reviews though 😦

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – I have a weakness for beautiful covers.

Amulet #1 The Stonekeeper – I can’t remember where I first heard of this series, but I’m riding the graphic novel wave, and it’s Goodreads ratings are promising

Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann & Kerascoët – I discovered this in some dark corner of the internet, and as the morbidity of it wouldn’t be enough, the lead character shares a name with my daughter. It was meant to be!

If you’ve read any of these, I’d love to hear your opinions on them. I don’t know which one to pick up first.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

